Venture of the Year Nominations

Nominations are now closed for the 2016 Venture of the Year Award. 

In order to highlight successful entrepreneurial activity in Ohio, the Ohio Venture Association will award its Venture of the Year award for 2016 on Friday, June 9th, 2017. Nominations for this award are being sought until April 14th, 2017.

Potential candidates for the award would include ventures that:

  1. Have received (closed) at least 1 round of professional capital during the calendar year 2016. This includes capital from JumpStart, North Coast Angels (or an equivalent angel fund), or any venture or private equity fund. Or,
  2. Have successfully exited (via buyout or IPO) during the same period.

The winning Venture will be selected by the Board of Trustees of the Ohio Venture Association.

To nominate a Venture of the Year candidate, please submit no more than two typed pages describing the nominee and the qualifying venture. Nomination forms should include:

  • Name of nominated company
  • Founder(s) or entrepreneur’s name
  • History of the venture
  • Professional advisors
  • Name of person making the nomination (self-nominations are welcome)
  • What qualifies the nominee to be considered the Venture of the Year. In addition to the 2 criteria cited above, consideration for selection of the Venture of the Year includes review of the following performance measures:
    • Company growth during the past 12 months
      • Major milestones met
      • Strategic partnerships created
      • Developmental progress (e.g., from idea to product, product to market entry, market entry to recurring revenue, etc.)
      • Management growth
    • Regional Impact
      • Job Creation
      • Attraction of other related enterprises (cluster building)
    • National Recognition
    • Attraction of additional capital at an increased enterprise value
    • Attraction of significant non-dilutive capital

Return completed nominations to:

Ohio Venture Association
1120 Chester Avenue, Suite 470
Cleveland, Ohio 44114

Fax: (216) 696-2582


Past Winners:

  • 2007 – Flashline, Inc.
  • 2008 – Whole Health Management
  • 2009 – Brulant
  • 2010 – PartsSource
  • 2011 – Turning Technologies
  • 2012 – Cleveland HeartLab
  • 2013 – OrthoHelix
  • 2014 – COMS Interactive
  • 2015 – TOA Technologies
  • 2016 – Explorys